Eagles Football

Eagles Football Live: The Philadelphia Eagles is a professional American football franchise based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

The Eagles compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member of the League of National Football Conference (NFC) East Division. They are Super Bowl champions, won Super Bowl LII; her first Super Bowl in the history of the franchise, and her fourth NFL title overall, after winning the Championship Game in 1948, 1949 and 1960.

The franchise was founded in 1933 to replace the bankrupt Frankford Yellow Jackets when a group led by Bert Bell secured the rights to an NFL franchise in Philadelphia. Bell, Chuck Bednarik, Bob Brown, Brian Dawkins, Reggie White, Steve Van Buren, Tommy McDonald, Greasy Neale, Pete Pihos, Sonny Jurgensen, Terrell Owens and Norm Van Brocklin were inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The team has an intense rivalry with the New York Giants. This rivalry is the oldest in the NFC East and is among the oldest in the NFL. Rated by NFL Network as the number one rivalry of all-time and Sports Illustrated, it ranks fourth among the top 10 NFL rivalries of all time, and, according to ESPN, it’s one of the wildest and best-known rivalries in the American football community.

They also have a fierce rivalry with the Dallas Cowboys, which has become known since the 1960s, as well as a historic rivalry with the Washington Redskins. Their rivalry with the Pittsburgh Steelers is another fierce rivalry dating back to around 1933, resulting mainly from the status of the two teams from opposite ends of the same state.

The team is consistently among the best in the league and has sold out every game since the 1999 season. In a Sports Illustrated poll with 321 NFL players, Eagles fans were voted the BFL’s most intimidating fans.

In the middle of the 1931 season, the Frankford Yellow Jackets went bankrupt and had to cease operations. After more than a year of searching for a suitable replacement, the NFL granted a franchise consortium led by Bert Bell and Lud Wray an extension license and the franchise rights of the failed Yellow Jackets organization.

The Bell Wray group had to pay an entry fee of $ 3,500 (today $ 40,230) and received a grand total of $ 11,000 from three other NFL franchises. The inspiration stems from the Blue Eagle insignia of the National Recovery Administration of President Franklin D. Roosevelt New Deal-Bell and Wray called the new franchise the Philadelphia Eagles.

Neither the Eagles nor the NFL consider the two franchises officially equal, citing the already mentioned rest phase. In addition, almost no Yellow Jackets players were in the Eagles’ first lineup. The Eagles, along with the Pittsburgh Steelers and the now deceased Cincinnati Reds, joined the NFL as an expansion team.

In 1937, the Eagles moved to Shibe Park (renamed Connie Mack Stadium in 1954) and played their home games at the stadium until 1957, with the exception of the 1941 season, which was played at Municipal Stadium, where they played from 1936 to 1939.

To organize football in Shibe Park in winter, the management stands in the right field, parallel to 20th Street. These about 20 feet high “Oststände” had 22 rows of seats. The goalposts were along the first baseline and in the left field. The free east of Shibe Park has an increased capacity of over 39,000, but the Eagles rarely attracted more than 25 to 30,000.

The Eagles fought over the course of their first decade and suffered repeated loss times. In December 1940, Pittsburgh Steelers owner Art Rooney sold his franchise to Alexis Thompson for $ 160,000 and then used half of the proceeds to buy a half stake in the Eagles of Bell, his longtime friend.

Soon after, Bell and Rooney exchanged the Eagles franchise for Thompson and relocated it to Pittsburgh (as “Steelers”), while Thompson relocated the Steelers franchise to Philadelphia (as “Eagles”). [13]

In 1943, when the shortage of World War II personnel made it impossible to fill the roster, the team merged with the Pittsburgh Steelers to form the “Phil-Pitt Eagles” and became known as “Steagles.” (The merger, never intended as a permanent agreement, was dissolved at the end of the 1943 season.) In the late 1940s, head coach Earle “Greasy” Neale and Steve Van Buren led the team back to three consecutive NFL championship games, winning them in 1948 and 1949 two each of them. These two championships mark the Eagles as the only NFL team to win two championships twice in a row